Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am standing on the edge, I am a noob when it comes to Foresters (although I currently own a Stage II WRX:biggrin:) I have my finger on a 2001 Forester S with 74k on the clock. I am thinking about purchasing TODAY!!!
I just got done reading a pretty brutal thread on the head gasket... It is making me want to step back... So I figured I should ask the people that REALLY KNOW...
Should I be that concerned about this issue... According to carfax... It looks like the car has been well maintained although the conditioner recall is still needed.

Before I buy this car... any opinions would be MUCH APPRECIATED...

·
Registered
2003 Forester X Auto
947 Posts
The open deck 2.5 subaru engines seem to be prone to the HG failure. If it has not been replaced yet, then IMHO it's only a matter of time. This affects from MY'99 to MY'02. There was a program in place to help out those years, but I think it's over now. The MY'03+ has also had it's fair share of HG failures, mine included. If it's in as good of shape as you say with such low milage for that year then maybe it's not a bad buy. Just be prepared to replace the HGs.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The open deck 2.5 subaru engines seem to be prone to the HG failure. If it has not been replaced yet, then IMHO it's only a matter of time. This affects from MY'99 to MY'02. There was a program in place to help out those years, but I think it's over now. The MY'03+ has also had it's fair share of HG failures, mine included. If it's in as good of shape as you say with such low milage for that year then maybe it's not a bad buy. Just be prepared to replace the HGs.
If we are talking... it is not a matter of if the HG will fail but when... That makes me shy away even more.