Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Forester S, auto
471 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all, I've been lurking for a few months now. I've been selling Subarus for about 2 years, and have an '09 5-speed Legacy on lease, which is ending in a few months.

The original plan was to buy my mom's '04 Forester XS and put her into a 2010 Forester Premium, hence my signing up here a few months ago to check out the scene, but that changed when she discovered skydiving and decided to divert her new car money towards her solo certification lessons, haha.

I've been scouting around for a good $10-14,000-ish car to get into once my lease is up, and earlier this week I found a 5-speed Saabaru 9-2X at our Honda dealership about 90 minutes from where I work. Impreza with more features for thousands less due to crappy Saab resale value, what's not to love? But about 20 other people had the same idea as me because the dealer priced it too low, and it was sold before I was able to make the drive out.

Bummed out, I arrived at work the next day, when my used car manager said "you're going to be glad you lost out on that Saabaru when you see what's coming in on trade today at 3:30..."

Intrigued, I waited til the afternoon, when I saw a very elderly couple pull up in this:

and check this out:

....aaaand I happily bought it. :bananapartyhat:It's ABSOLUTELY IMMACULATE.

It's a 2001 Forester S with dimming mirror, and automatic transmission. I always drove stick shift, but in this car, I actually don't really mind that it's an automatic.

Seriously I can explain how clean this is. We all were standing around looking at it the other day and we came to the conclusion that this may actually be the nicest original-condition SF Forester in the country.