Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Forester XS
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everyone. I just joined the Forum tonight. I've had a 2003 Forester XS Premium 5sp. since new. I leased it in 2003 and have just decided to buy it at lease end. Now I want to do a few modifications. K&N Filter, Short Throw Shifter, New Tires (possibly upgrade to 17's), and sway bars and speakers.

I'm no mechanic so I'm planning on asking Subiegal for some great deals on shifter and speakers ( she also has sway bars, but I'm not sure if they're just stock replacements or if they're beefier) and then having my local Subaru dealer install them.( not the speakers, I'm not THAT lame;) I'd be willing to try the Cobb or Kartboy stuff but I'm not sure of a mechanic that is used to doing Mods. If anyone knows of a good place in LA or the San Fernando Valley, I'd really appreciate it.

I saw the instructions on installing the Kartboy Shifter on the Impreza site and it seems pretty easy. The bushings I wasn't too sure about. And sway bars may be easy but it scares me to mess with suspension.

Also, how will sway bars affect offroad ability? I have never done it but I've always wanted to take my Subie offroad. Maybe I'll talk to the folks that meet in the Inland Empire area and try to do a little offroading with them.

Blah, Blah, Blah. . . stop rambling already!

I know this is a long post but I'm just sooo freakin' happy to find a Forester specific Site!

I look forward to chatting with you all.

Mark

·
Premium Member
903 Posts
Another new owner here (a week come tomorrow) but I've been following threads here for some months. A great resource is www.scoobymods.com. You'll find a ton of posts authored by Peaty that all contain pictures (you'll need to register to see them). They offer a good estimate of how involved some of these modifications are.