Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Im total noob and well, the title says it all, you know those plastic things above the doors? what are they sun visors or something? Well, I dont like em, so, can I take em off? Will it be easy? Will it leave glue marks all over the paint? Are they on all foresters?

Sorry for the list of questions :p Im a car noob,

·
Premium Member
2008 XS 4EAT
9,878 Posts
hhhhm, no model info, no location, no basic knowledge of basic parts, no pictures, hhhm

·
Super Moderator
2007 Forester Sports XT 4EAT
35,846 Posts
I see this is your first post, so welcome to the forum from Oregon! :biggrin:

Pictures would be nice, but you're required to have 15 posts to link to a host (to prevent spamming), but you can attach pictures (thumbnails) now. :frown:

If it's an add on visor, yes it can be removed. They're usually just stuck on with double sided tape. Heating it with a hair dryer should soften the adhesive so it can be pulled off. Any adhesive residue can be cleaned off with a mild solvent like Ronsonal lighter fluid, WD40, Goof Off, or plain old car cleaner. Of course not knowing how its attached (need pictures), I'm just throwing out a possible solution. :wink:

I agree with good dog. Some vehicle information would be very helpful! :smile:

Bobby...

My MODding Journal

·
Registered
2006 Forester XT
658 Posts
They sound like they are the rain guards, probably by Weathertech. (Unlikely to be the optional JDM ones, they cost a fortune.) Start just ahead of the mirros and end just behind the rear door top?

Unless they are cracked and nasty, I'd seriously reconsider taking them off - I paid $125 for my set and they help in a few ways; the windows have no frame, so when snow covers the top of the glass it will fall straight onto your seat when the door gets opened. The guard stops this.