'04
107K miles
auto
black exterior
black interior
pure stock everything
one owner
$10,100. $11,000 after tax and tags

I'm new to Subarus but I'm not that new to turbocharging. I have a turbocharged 03 Miata with a built engine, hydra, GT3071, hydramist, 3" straight pipes etc+++ and hope to see 400whp on the dyno in a month or so. My miata usually hangs out at miataturbo.net

I bought this forester as my DD to slam around the beltway on, pick up rock chips, bird doo doo etc.

Planned mods:

Power

I'll probably be modifying it to what seems to be known as "stage 2.5" or whatever an accessport, 3" exhaust from turbo all the way to the exhaust, and an MBC is. As far as I can go while preserving my tranny and still be able to spit out OBD2 readings and pass MD emissions inspection (OBD2 plus idle sniffer). I want the exhaust to be as quiet as a 3" can be since it's a daily.

Handling
I haven't quite figured out the cheap path to lower and firm up the suspension yet. Is it an STI coilover swap?

Looks
A turbo'd car must have a boost gauge. Going to put a 30hg/20psi gauge in. Going to 5% tint the windows, black out the tail lights, and do something to the front grill so it doesn't look like I'm driving a freakin' Ford.

I hope to meet some of you local guys soon.. cheerz

·
Pleiads' biggest leghumper
04's 2 FXT's.
9,263 Posts
Congrats & welcome to the forum...

joe r

·
Administrator
2016 & 2018 2.5i Premium CVT
19,340 Posts
Welcome! We have quite a few members from the Balto-Wash-NoVa area. One fewer than before since I moved from Columbia to New Hampshire, but it's back even now that you're here!

For info on what's happening in the area, check the MD, VA, PA thread, now 101 pages long!

Check the maintenance records on your Forester. It would have been due for timing belt replacement 2k miles ago. I had mine done at British American. I trust those people!

·
Registered
03 Miata
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
TY very much for the link.