Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Forester, Legacy
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been hanging around the boards for a couple of weeks now, but I finally have some decent pictures of my car(s) to share for my introduction.

First, a pic of my Fozzie:

I'm Ryan, I'm from South Florida (Lighthouse Point if you know where that is), and I'm new to Subaru, but I've wanted one for a long time. Back as far as my last car purchase, an Impreza was in the running for my first new car purchase, but in the end, mpg won and I got a Civic.

Last June, we happend to be driving my wife's '03 Santa Fe back from a trip to North Carolina (a trip which taxed the engine to the point of the A/C not working, and broke the power steering), we stopped for a cabin air filter at a Hyundai Subaru dealership. While waiting for the part, we walked the aisles of '09 Foresters. My wife sat in a Charcoal Gray Forester X Premium and said "this is the car I want." Ironically, that's the exact car she got, 11 months later almost to the day. We paid off the Civic by December, and were left with two cars to sell, and two cars to buy. We drove the Forester and the Impreza, and I have to say, somehow, for them sharing the same drivetrain, the Forester felt zippier. No 2010 Legacies or outbacks were to be found in SoFla, so we waited.

Then two weeks ago, we went to test drive the Mazda 6 (two word review: it sucked), and the CX-7, and we liked the CX-7 enough that I considered driving a truck for the first time in my life. Just to compare, we went across the street and drove the Forester again. The forester blew away the CX-7 for acceleration, handling, and interior build quality. Then I drove a smattering of Legacies. A new '09 GT, a new '09 SE (almost bought that one, for around $18k), and a '10 Premium.