Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2000 Forester L
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I just purchased a set of Goodyear Assurance TripleTreds for my 2000 Forester. While I appreciate the vast increase in handling and traction that I get from these tires, I've noticed that I'm now getting about 1-2 MPG less in fuel economy; no doubt due, at least in part, to the better traction.

I was wondering though if anyone here had some sage advice (I'm a bit of a newbie with Subarus) as to the "optimum" tire presures to use to maximize fuel economy. If it makes any difference, I live in the Denver area (high altitude), so I can expect any kind of weather ranging from blistering heat in the summer to deep freezes and snow in the winter.

Thank to all who offer advice!

·
Registered
59 Posts
A 1 - 2 mpg loss is common with the increased rolling resistance with the wider tire over the stock Geo's. Depending on your requirements for road harshness tolerance, sidewall stiffness, fore / aft handling balance, etc., running higher pressures above 34 psi will improve performance & gas mileage in addition to a higher load rating & max speed capability - just don't exceed the max cold inflation pressure rating of your tires. The higher pressure will also help keep the tread channels from pinching in from water pressure in the rain.
I ran 36 psi in my Geo 900's & current B'stone G009's with the weight loading in the rear of my XT.

·
Registered
2005 FXT PP 4EAT
2,772 Posts
I had the Goodyear product as my second choice.
They were a bit pricey and so I went with the Bridgestone G009.
Keep us posted every once in a while and let us know how they wear.
Did you go with the stock size or one up (225/60/16 or 215/65/16)?

I second the 34psi (cold) opinion above.
Improves mpg and handling.
Enjoy the new shoes.

·
Registered
2000 Forester L
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4