Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Forester Limited CVT
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: This is a review for Joe/Josephine drive who might also own a minivan and are more interested in getting places safely.

Me: Driving experience: 50 years. Learned to drive in the Rochester/Buffalo in the 70-'s in rear-wheel drive beasts where winter driving was not an option. Boston-area commuter for 40 years, average 10 driving ski trips a year. About 30 years on various mid sized front wheel drive imports, with Blizzaks on them. At one point maintained four family cars with Blizzaks. I'm a pretty average driver, more interested in MPG than 0-60. I can get 34 mpg without much effort and I don't drive like grandma. I drive in any weather, drive at posted speeds and always at speed appropriate for conditions. I now drive solo most of the time and am never pressed for time. I give the other guy a break, don't tailgate and give myself plenty of time to get places. Been in or witness to dozens, if not hundreds of (what could have been) dangerous traffic incidents. I only have my winter tires on December through March. It's common for me to drive in storms. I consider myself highly skilled at winter driving. I don't let any winter tire get below about 4 or 5 cm tread depth. I also drive White Mountain National Forest forest service roads in the summer as a volunteer. I use my car to get me places and on the way explore the lands I travel. I respect my car's limitations, challenge the car but never expect more than it can give. I keep my cars maintained above manufacturer's schedules. I keep my cars for 10 years or 200K miles, whichever comes first. I don't take most opinions too seriously unless the reviewer discloses their own driving history and expectations.