Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Legacy GT
3,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just letting you know that there are now more bolt on turbo upgrades available. As you know the 09+ FXT shares the same turbo/IC layout as the 05-09' LGT/OBXT and 08'+ WRX. VF52 is a good IHI bolt-on upgrade for you 09+ owners, and now BNR has made the following: (I think they do require a VF40 core though)

EVO 16g/TD05H $700
18g/TD05H $750
20G/TD05H $800
20G/TD06 $950

(compressor wheels (VF40, EVO 16G, 18G, 20G))

The whole (LONG) thread here: Bolt up turbocharger upgrade - Subaru Legacy Forums

Again, just spreading the word on this as a potential upgrade for you 09+ FXT owners looking to lose the TD04. I know I am anxiously awaiting to hear the results of either the 16G or 18G for my own ride...

·
Registered
2009 FXT
202 Posts
So i'm new to the Subaru world. How reliable will your car be after one of these upgrades? Also will the 4eat be able to handle this increase okay? What is required to support this mod ie. intercooler and tune I suppose.

·
Premium Member
2009 Outback XT-B 5MT
10,409 Posts
I know I am anxiously awaiting to hear the results of either the 16G or 18G for my own ride...
I'm also curious about the 18g. One of my favorite turbos. But a LOT of the turbo depends on the housing, so I'd like to see pics of that as well.

I wonder how it will do against the AVO380. The AVO certainly costs enough!

·
Registered
2007 FSTI and X 6 MT
22,330 Posts
If they require a core then they will mill out the stock turbo's compressor side housing., I build a hybrid back in 2002 for my SR20DET T28(GTiR turbo) with t25 compressor side. All I did was mill it out and bolt it up.

Assuming thats what they do, your still only as relieable as the VF40 that it started with. And the larger the compressor wheel, the more lag.

·
Registered
2005 Legacy GT
3,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Turbo newbie question: