Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
07 Forester at
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Someone is giving me a 07 Forester w/36k on it for free. It's the original owner and I know personally there have been no accidents. It's from a little old lady who drove it to church and to the supermarket.
I have no experience with Subaru, what should I do first?
Can I put bigger tires on it?
Can it be lifted a little?
Thanks

·
Registered
2007 2.5XT Limited 4EAT
343 Posts
Congrats! That's a really good get. You can certainly lift it and put bigger tires on it if that is your thing. Although as they say there is no such thing as a free puppy (or car). The first thing you should do is have the car looked over by someone who knows about these cars, if you are not savvy. I only offer this as a caveat because while getting a low mileage car from a little old lady sounds ideal, it can often times be anything but.

Here's why...If the car has only been driven on short trips and has not seen much freeway or high speed use, there could be sludge in the engine and PCV system. This happens when cars are driven just long enough to get them warm and shutting them down shortly after. This tends to build condensation in the engine and plumbing...if the car is then not driven hot enough or long enough on the next drive cycle more condensation will build and oil and fuel vapor will start to cling to the condensation creating sludge. This can usually be remedied by a few long drives and a couple of oil changes. Pop the oil fill cap and see if there is any milky sludge in there.