Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Forester 2.5
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to All,

I hate to bring fluid issues to the community this time again, but...

- 40,000 miles, 2014 Forester (CVT)
- Car loosing about a tenth of an inch of coolant from the reserve tank every ride
- No detectable leak, no trace of coolant anywhere in the engine bay or under the car
- No visible contamination in coolant
- Exhaust fumes pristine
- Radiator cap looks in good condition (but haven't tested it)
- No bubbles in radiator (haven't run chemical test yet)
- Oil, oil cap, bear no traces of coolant
- No noticeable changes in oil level, never saw a drop of oil under the car but the ground strap on the right hand side under the engine (facing front) has been covered in oil for a year or so (but never to the point of dripping - see picture attached)
- Car feels "normal" when driven (never over-heated)

I am a newbie on the forum with no experience in mechanics... and, unfortunately, I am not confident that I can blindly rely on the only official Subaru service available where I live (overseas).

If anyone familiar with the issue was kind enough to assist me in narrowing down the diagnosis and options I face, that would be of great help.

Thanks for reading that far on a subject that took so many pages already.

Notes:

- The car has a history of services by Subaru every 3,000 miles or so (severe schedule due daily short rides in dusty mountains)
- Where I live, Subaru services the car with 5w-40 oil and they went for green Castrol coolant as early as 30,000 miles (I only found out after servicing was done)

Attachments

·
Registered
Sahuarita, Arizona USA 2018 Forester Limited
2,273 Posts
Exactly how are you measuring your coolant loss?

I wouldn't have my car serviced at a Subaru dealer that does not use the recommended oil and coolant.

·
Registered
2014 Forester 2.5
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ForesterBill,

Thanks for the quick reply