1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Fast & Dirty
2009 Forester XT 4 speed auto
4,039 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

Does anyone else fly fish in AB and BC?

If so, any good fishing holes between Calgary and Campbell River?

I need something to do while the mother in law is around. :biggrin:

·
Registered
2003 Forester XS
1,066 Posts
Oyster river and Black creek..... and of course Quinsam and Campbell!

You don't have to go anywhere, just stay in CR :)

I just started learning fly fishing!! and just bought a TFO rod

·
Registered
2008 Forester AE
1,723 Posts
Take the fishing highway?

Lots of spots around these parts.. do you have your backroads mapbooks ready? Have you seen that they make a fishing edition with depth maps for lakes?

·
Registered
2008 XT Sports
343 Posts
^ wow.
I so need to go there one day...
Sorry to highjack - on the same topic: anyone knows good spots around Ottawa or in the 1000s island area?

·
Premium Member
2008 XS 4EAT
9,827 Posts
Always wanted to try this. I can appreciate this sport.
This shop Grindstone is close to where I live.
A member at my former place of work (HGCC ) was very active in fly fishing even when forced to use a walker to get around. John also taught people how to tie flies, he must have been good because he had guests from near and as far away as New Zealand come to visit him and fish. He had a father and daughter from South Africa visit once for lessons and to fish with John, the daughter who was maybe 15-16 was genuinely interested and carried a lot of the conversation surprisingly.