Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Forester 2.5 XS
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I have a '98 Forester with 138K miles on it. It's been a good car the past five years I've owned it, but lately it's becoming a money pit. I am currently an unemployed student and my father (the original owner of the vehicle) pays for repairs. The car recently needed a ton of repairs over the past six months: timing belt, oil pump, radiator, thermostat, head gaskets, water pump, O2 sensor, engine knock sensor, bearings. Whether or not it was worth it is beside the point, I suppose. My father is of the opinion that Subarus are indestructible and even at this car's advanced age, worth pouring $3000+ into repairs on. My good friend, also a Subaru owner ('96 Legacy with 210K+), assured me that it was worth fixing and had put $5000 into his car at around the 140K mark.

I am originally from Massachusetts and get work done at a great local shop that specializes in foreign car repair. But since I'm 180 miles away in Vermont when I'm at college, I had to take it to a local shop. This one has a good reputation. They did the headgaskets, engine knock sensor, O2 sensor, bearings, thermostat and radiator. The repairs took about 2 weeks total. I picked it up, checked the fluids, and took it on a test drive ten miles north up the highway. Once the car got up to 55 mph, the check engine light came back on. I took it back to the shop, code P0400. They originally had told my father that they would replace the EGR valve as well. The shop owner was quite nice about this, explained they had forgotten to replace it (with the multitudes of other things wrong with it, not too surprising), apologized, ordered one in, and replaced it on the house.