Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
2004 Forester XT
923 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright,

Not sure where to post this because I am not sure what the issue is!

There is about 2 feet of snow on the ground outside so far.

I had to drive home from a work meeting last night in Galant VR-4 which is Turbo and AWD. Unfortunately it is equipped with Kumho Ecsta Supra 712 which are Performance Summer Tires.

I have lots of driving experience, but most of it is from living in South Florida.

Well it took me 5 hrs to drive the 62 miles back from DC to Central Virginia last night.

I had several close calls along the way even though I wasn't driving over 15 miles mph.

It didn't seem to matter how slowly I drove or how much room I left for braking. I ended up going through a red light down a hill last night even though the vehicle is equipped with ABS/AWD and I was driving like a snail.

When I hit my last mile home, I took a tiny turn and ended up on the side of the road. No matter how I tried I could not break free (Kind of like a Pink Floyd Song). The rear tires were spinning away. The police came by and pulled me out with a chain.

Since I just got the GVR-4, I didn't even have enough time before the storm to determine what type of tires I was running before this storm.

So when I finally got the GVR4 in this morning, I tried to move the Forester to see how it fared. The Subaru has Pirelli P-Zero Nero's on it which are basically summer tires too, but they have an M&S on the side. The Forester fared a tiny bit better, but still got stuck.

The interesting part about this story is that the owner provided me with a set of 4 Blizzaks for the GVR4 on some stock rims with paint that is peeling horribly.

I planned on painting them up and popping them on, but the storm hit.

So this is what I really want to know about.

Is it ground clearance or traction that is stopping these vehicles from moving?