Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2000 Forester L
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1999 Forester that I want to change the transmission fluid and filter on. The filter is simple enough, but how to get all of the fluid out is my question. I know I can get a bit less than half of it out by draining the pan via the drain plug, pretty straightforward. What about the torque converter? I don't have the tools or facilities to drop the transmission.

I am not an expert on transmissions, so what I am thinking about doing might be potentially lethal to my transmission; so I need some advice from people more experienced with auto transmissions. I was thinking about just leaving the drain plug out, starting the car and putting it in gear, letting the transmission pump the rest of the oil out through the pan drain plug. With another person operating the ignition and gear selector, I would signal that person to park the transmission and shut off the car once the transmission has fluid stopped pumping out of the drain plug hole. After this, I would replace the drain plug, change the filter, and begin the refilling process.

Is this a reasonably safe idea, or am I in danger of causing catastrophic damage to my transmission? Can an auto transmission run for a few seconds with little or no fluid?

·
Registered
2009 Forester X Premium
3,121 Posts
Id do the 3 fill method... just drain it and refill it then drive for a few days then drain it and refill it again drive for a few more days then drain it once more install the new filter and refill it that should freshen up the fluid to almost new.

·
Premium Member
2008 2008 2.5i-2018 XT
13,194 Posts
Id do the 3 fill method... just drain it and refill it then drive for a few days then drain it and refill it again drive for a few more days then drain it once more install the new filter and refill it that should freshen up the fluid to almost new.
A

agree 100%

·
Registered
none none
9,011 Posts