Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
NA No more! :(
8,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I admit I'm a crazy driver. I drive fast, I turn fast, but I always keep my horseplay out of other drivers' hair and the only law I'm ever fiddling with is the speed limit (and not even into "wreckless endangerment" territory 90mph+).

But after relocating to South Orange County, there's just this enormous population of people talking on their cell phones and trying to run you over with their Escalade. Operations folks like to call them "Driving Under Incompetence." I admit it's not localized to South Orange County, as San Francisco drivers have gotten worse too. The good thing is that cops ticket you like crazy up there now for things like cell phones.

Just last night, a 07/08 Bronze Honda Civic Si cuts across three lanes without signaling and squeezes in front me, leaving me with about a foot of buffer and then he keeps riding his brakes--all when there was no cars behind me and plenty of space for him to merge at his own damn pace. I try to be nice and just high beam him instead of holding down my horn and then I move around him since he's doing 55 in front of me now while I was trying to keep 70 on the cruise control. He gets off at the same off ramp, drives at a distance behind me, then proceeds to high beam me and everyone else next to me for a good 15-20 seconds. Why is it that bad drivers think that they've done nothing wrong and that they have the right to flash or honk back? Damn their audacity!

I'm tempted to start a list here of drivers I've encountered doing the aforementioned stupid acts and other acts of negligence behind the wheel. I want to include:

-Car model
-License plates (even partials)
-Driver description