Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Civic Automatic
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my 2nd post, and I know you guys hate that question, but seriously, help me out. I'm not getting my '14 until the spring, and I'm obsessing about this question daily.

Ok, I currently drive a 115 hp Civic. I wring it's neck daily (I'm surprised it hasn't blown yet)...I drive very "spirited." I only test drove the 2.5 and XT for a few minutes, mainly because I've got the salesman in the car with me.

My question is, will the 2.5 feel like a rocket to me coming from the Civic? And I'm new to turbos as well. The boost only comes into play above a certain rpm, correct? So, before that, will the 2.5 actually have more get up than the 2.0?

G

·
Since the 2.0 is a twin scroll turbo it will spool up pretty quickly. The turbo will be quicker. I wouldn't describe the 2.5 NA as a "rocket" in any sense. :lol:

You don't need the turbo, but you need the turbo.

·
Registered
2014 2.0 XT Touring CVT
85 Posts
I test drove both for around two hours each. I'm lucky with my dealer - he just takes a copy of my license, and says "go" and walks back inside.

I found that the turbo was quicker in all respects, and by a healthy margin. The CVT is also much quicker off the lights unless you drop the clutch in the 2.5 pretty severely, and once the turbo spools up - bye bye.

·
Registered
2005 Forester XT Manual
37 Posts
If you don't get the turbo you'll always regret it. I've never met anyone that wished they had purchased the slower model car. And if mileage is your number one concern there's other cars you should consider.

·
Registered
2014 Forester 2.0XT CVT
81 Posts
The Turbo also has a very different suspension than the 2.5. It handles much more crisply and has much better damping. The brakes are also much better. The 2 cars feel different, even without using the power.

·
Registered
2003 Forester xs automatic
20 Posts