Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Subaru Forester XT CVT
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

A quick question for you knowledgeable folks out there. I own a 2018 Forester XT, and just had my second oil change.

I noticed that on my first oil change (which happened about 2,000 miles in) the dealer put 0W-20 Synthetic oil in my car, instead of the recommended 5W-30 Synthetic, which is called for my the manual. And so I've been driving all Summer and Fall on the wrong oil for about six months. I only noticed this because for my second oil change which just took place, the dealer ended up putting the correct oil in my car, and I was wondering why the difference and went back to check the manual, which alerted me to the correct oil requirements.

I drive pretty carefully, and I don't really stress the car in any way, but then again, I do mostly city driving, and most of my trips are short (under 5 miles) and so I do believe that Subaru calls the type of driving that I do, "extreme driving."

Should I have any cause for concern? Or should I just think of this as a learning opportunity to keep an eye on the dealer from here on out?

Thanks 'y'all!

·
Registered
2015 Forester 2.0XT H-CVT
359 Posts
Make sure the dealer puts the error in writing. The FA20DIT engine has a few quirks about it, and could be quite finicky. I personally had my engine rod knock, and it wasn’t Cobb tuned or anything ( it probably because I drove through a muddy puddle, rod knocked happened 3 days later).

I would advise, make sure you 100% covered in case something goes wrong.

Your manual says, using the wrong oil “will” lead to problems.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the feedback guys!