Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 2006 Forester with about 87,000 miles on it. I have loved it since we have bought it and this is truly the first issue we have had with it. I am always fearful of any car problems since they tend to get very costly very quick!
I am currently visiting my hometown about 8 hours from where I now live. On Sunday, I will be needing to drive back home so I am needing this problem resolved or at least temporarily fixed before then (and as cheap as possible since funds are short just like everyone else!) I do have a mechanically minded dad around that is available to help too. I have some general auto knowledge but can follow directions well.

This is what has happened. Before making my initial 350 mile trip, I had the oil changed and tires balanced and rotated. The dealer did not make any mention of low levels, water in oil, etc While driving the 20 minutes home from the dealer where the work was done, I smelled something burning- assumed spilled oil from the change. Stopped halfway home to check on it, distinct smell, a little smoking from under the hood, but everything else appeared to be "normal". Fluid levels were good (just filled from the dealer).