Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The car seems relatively good on paper, lightly used (<5k miles, no rust damage, all service history etc). This is the Premium trim.
The asking price is ~28 - 29k which seems a bit high but I'd be okay with it if it was a good deal. I've been looking for an XT for a bit now and its a shame that they stopped making them after 2018. Here's some pros and cons from what I can tell -
• Low mileage
• Relatively new, no damage at all as far as I can tell
• Is an XT variant!
On the down side -
• Expensive
• Subaru warranty will expire soon in ~1y
• Not a CPO car
• No EyeSight

I'd also appreciate any tips on negotiating at all because this is my first time getting a car!

·
Registered
2018 Forester XT Touring HT-CVT
525 Posts
IIRC, didn't the XT Premium retail for around $29-30k when it was being sold? If so, they're really not giving you much of a discount...

·
Registered
2015 Forester 2.5 Premium CVT
1,074 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
According to that website @subatron posted, it looks like the pricing is -
where $29,495 is the price before the destination fees of $915 and the other number is the price after.
2.0XT Premium CVT, paddle shifters
JFM​
$29,495​
$915​
$30,410​

My concern is that this car only has a year of Subaru warranty left but I'm still paying close to full price here if the numbers are all right here.

·
Registered
2015 Forester 2.5 Premium CVT
1,074 Posts
I don't know whether this is possible, but you could contact Subaru customer service and see if you can purchase an extended warranty since you still have a year left on the original 3-year warranty.

Subaru Cars, Sedans, SUVs | Subaru of America

When you buy a new Subaru, you can purchase the extended warranty at any time during the first 3-years/30K-miles. Not sure if that would still apply to you, since you're not the original purchaser.