Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Forester X Premium
Joined
·
3,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After 8 years its time to retire my Athlon XP 3000+ based system for somthing a little more modern, as most new games wont even run on it. Ive been researching for the last 2 weeks and have come up with components for a new build and wanted to run it by the computer gurus on here for any advice or suggestions before ordering it all.

Here's the parts ive picked out

Antec Three Hundred Illusion Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard

AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor

Mushkin HP 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model 996659

SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP

2-Western Digital Caviar Green WD5000AADS 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5

Ill be using my current DVD and CDRW burners from the system being decommissioned and if all goes well I'm hoping to unlock the 4th core on this processor as I've found many others have done. The OS will be Windows XP professional till I can get my hands on Windows 7 when its released in a few weeks .. So what do you guys think ? :Banane37:
 

·
Registered
2005 Impreza RS Wagon Auto
Joined
·
3,683 Posts
I'll take the decommissed pc :biggrin:

I like the setup you got going there for planning though, always been an AMD man myself.
 

·
admin
2019 3.6R & 98 Forester Atlanta, GA
Joined
·
6,867 Posts
Looks real good!
Are you going to raid the Western Digital Greens ?
If not you might considered a WD Black for your boot drive? I like them a lot. Very fast and they with a five year warranty. I prefer to use the greens for storage and the blacks for boot drives.
 

·
Registered
2005 Impreza RS Wagon Auto
Joined
·
3,683 Posts
Looks real good!
Are you going to raid the Western Digital Greens ?
If not you might considered a WD Black for your boot drive? I like them a lot. Very fast and they with a five year warranty. I prefer to use the greens for storage and the blacks for boot drives.
Yeah I was wondering that also with having 2 500gb greens.
 

·
Registered
NA No more! :(
Joined
·
8,529 Posts
Blacks FTW. Though, if you want most speed for the money, get the 500gb or 640gb, not the 1TB (# of platters). Sadly, I used two blues as boot and a storage, so my black is a 2nd storage.
 

·
Registered
none none
Joined
·
9,011 Posts
Don't bother with the greens. Just go for blacks.

I personally would have just done an intel build, but the phenoms pretty decent.

Get 64bit windows 7 and run more ram than that, its amazing how nice it feels with 8gb compared to 4!
 

·
Registered
2009 Forester X Premium
Joined
·
3,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks for the tips on the drives im just going to get 1-500gig WD green for now and pick up a 750 gig or 1 TB black model for a boot drive. I dont think im going to set them up in a Raid array. I thought about running a 64bit OS but I don't think many games are supported on that platform yet, so im going to stick with the 32bit for now. I believe windows 7 comes with both versions on the disc so i can always try it down the road . Parts are ordered and should be here early next week to start the build. :woohoo:
 

·
Registered
NA No more! :(
Joined
·
8,529 Posts
oh be careful of the 500gb blacks actually. i'm seeing a lot of issues with that model. i wonder if the 2 platter tech isn't mature enough...
 

·
Registered
2009 Forester X Premium
Joined
·
3,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Well its up, blazing along and running great. Got the 4th core unlocked and still need to tweak it some but here's some stats for the geeks :woohoo:

Field Value
CPU Properties
CPU Type QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 20
CPU Alias Deneb
CPU Stepping RB-C2
Engineering Sample No
CPUID CPU Name AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 20 Processor
CPUID Revision 00100F42h
CPU VID 1.3250 V
North Bridge VID 1.3750 V

CPU Speed
CPU Clock 2800.0 MHz
CPU Multiplier 14x
CPU FSB 200.0 MHz (original: 200 MHz)
HyperTransport Clock 2000.0 MHz
North Bridge Clock 2000.0 MHz
Memory Bus 800.0 MHz
DRAM:FSB Ratio 24:6

CPU Cache
L1 Code Cache 64 KB per core
L1 Data Cache 64 KB per core
L2 Cache 512 KB per core (On-Die, ECC, Full-Speed)
L3 Cache 6 MB (On-Die, ECC, NB-Speed)

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 64-0507-000001-00101111-081809-AMD 790GX$A1396000_BIOS DATE: 08/18/09 10:34:49 VER: 08.00.15
Motherboard Name Unknown

Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset AMD 790X, AMD K10
Memory Timings 9-9-9-27 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 1T
DIMM3: Mushkin 991659 (996659) 2 GB DDR3-1333 DDR3 SDRAM (9-9-9-24 @ 666 MHz) (8-8-8-22 @ 592 MHz) (6-6-6-16 @ 444 MHz)
DIMM4: Mushkin 991659 (996659) 2 GB DDR3-1333 DDR3 SDRAM (9-9-9-24 @ 666 MHz) (8-8-8-22 @ 592 MHz) (6-6-6-16 @ 444 MHz)

BIOS Properties
System BIOS Date 08/18/09
Video BIOS Date 07/30/09
DMI BIOS Version 0507

Graphics Processor Properties
Video Adapter ATI Radeon HD 4870 (RV770)
GPU Code Name RV770 (PCI Express 2.0 x16 1002 / 9440, Rev 00)
GPU Clock 600 MHz (original: 750 MHz)
Memory Clock 900 MHz (original: 900 MHz)
 

·
Registered
1999 Forester S w/AT
Joined
·
442 Posts
I dont think im going to set them up in a Raid array.
Very good move. RAID just isn't worth it. Very few people really need it, and those that do should go with a hardware solution, not with an on-board solution.

I thought about running a 64bit OS but I don't think many games are supported on that platform yet, so im going to stick with the 32bit for now. I believe windows 7 comes with both versions on the disc so i can always try it down the road .
Go 64. Games don't have to support it to run on it. As long as you aren't running DOS or 16-bit games (pretty old), you won't notice a thing. And, if you are running DOS or 16-bit games, Win 7 Pro has an XP mode that will let you have a virtual machine that will let you run anything that will run on XP.

64 bits will also allow you to access more than ~3.3 gigs of RAM as well as a bit more security. Also, some games are coding for 64 bit.

You've got a good system going. Go 64 while its relatively painless instead of waiting for a year and then doing it.
 

·
Registered
NA No more! :(
Joined
·
8,529 Posts
Most games have 64-bit installers these days too. But if you want to play older games (like me), then yeah, consider 32-bit. You can always change later.
 

·
Registered
NA No more! :(
Joined
·
8,529 Posts
oh hey i forgot to ask. what was your total cost for components? really only need to know mobo, processor, ram, and gfx card (though i think i might get something different). sigh i think i'll need another psu too... 500W won't cut it even with my +80 efficiency and single high amp +12V rails.

my p4c800e-dlx and p4 3.2ghz won't cut it for long either!
 

·
Registered
1999 Forester S w/AT
Joined
·
442 Posts
oh hey i forgot to ask. what was your total cost for components? really only need to know mobo, processor, ram, and gfx card (though i think i might get something different). sigh i think i'll need another psu too... 500W won't cut it even with my +80 efficiency and single high amp +12V rails.

my p4c800e-dlx and p4 3.2ghz won't cut it for long either!
500W at 80+ efficiency is all you would need.

Debunking Power Supply Myths - Anandtech.com

I run a fairly high end setup (AMD 95W Phenom II, ATI 4850, 2 SATA HD's) on a 380W PSU.
 

·
Casper reincarnated
Joined
·
2,272 Posts
Go 64. Games don't have to support it to run on it. As long as you aren't running DOS or 16-bit games (pretty old), you won't notice a thing. And, if you are running DOS or 16-bit games, Win 7 Pro has an XP mode that will let you have a virtual machine that will let you run anything that will run on XP.

64 bits will also allow you to access more than ~3.3 gigs of RAM as well as a bit more security. Also, some games are coding for 64 bit.

You've got a good system going. Go 64 while its relatively painless instead of waiting for a year and then doing it.
I agree 64bit with XP mode works great so my son-in-law tells me, he works for a PC building systems for people who place orders.
My PC is too old to run XP mode on Win7 but I am playing Far Cry 2 under Win7 with no hiccups.
 

·
Registered
2005 Impreza RS Wagon Auto
Joined
·
3,683 Posts
I just ordered a WD 500gb Black for 60 bucks total! Can't wait for it to come. I bought it because the reviews were great both on here and on newegg, and that is cheap too!:woohoo:
 

·
Registered
2009 Forester X Premium
Joined
·
3,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
oh hey i forgot to ask. what was your total cost for components?
Sorry I didnt reply earlier on this Neoshi I got everything from newegg I added a Plextor PX880SSA to it because the older white face burner wasn't cutting it in the new black case, so the total was close to 700 after rebates.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top