Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
2010 dodge caravan auto
1,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well being a truck driver I love my CB radio, and I want to put one in the forester, but have no idea were to put it, any ideas? SF forester

THIS post SHOULD BE IN INTERIOR my bad

·
Administrator
15,340 Posts
I have a GME Electrophone 3400 that has a remote head unit. I cut the ashtray out and installed the head in there. The main body sits vertically on its side in behind the lower RHS dash panel.

The pic is not great for the cb but shows the mic cable and the panel next to my knee. RH drive of course.

Another nice install of the same unit was with the head unit in one of the sunglass holders.

Attachments

·
Registered
2006 Forester
30 Posts
Kevin said:
I have a GME Electrophone 3400 that has a remote head unit. I cut the ashtray out and installed the head in there. The main body sits vertically on its side in behind the lower RHS dash panel.

The pic is not great for the cb but shows the mic cable and the panel next to my knee. RH drive of course.

Another nice install of the same unit was with the head unit in one of the sunglass holders.
That's a nice radio. Can you take some better pictures please? What kind of antenna do you use?

·
Registered
13 Work Boot Do it yourself
583 Posts
Kevin said:

I like your compass...:)

·
04 XS Prem Gold
2004 2.5 XS Premium 4EAT
277 Posts
one option would be to get the dash top Gauge Pod, fabricate a bracket and mount your radio in there ... this is what I've done for my amatuer radio. See the attached "ft7800_in_pod.jpg" for what it looks like.

Attachments

·
Administrator
15,340 Posts

·
Registered
13 Work Boot Do it yourself
583 Posts
Kevin said:
What2: I'll get some more pics on the weekend. I use a 3 / 6 db antenna. The 3 whip works well but I'm not so sure of the 6. It's an older version of this: