Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Forester Ltd. CVT
1,778 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure if anyone caught click and clack this weekend, but they started out with a discussion of Subris (rhymes with hubris): "the excessive pride that causes owners of subarus... to drive too fast when it snows."

Careful out there all you east coasters in the snowpocalypse (II).

·
Premium Member
? ? ?
692 Posts
What is considered fast? I am a confident winter driver, but not over-confident. I put the snow tires on in December and leave them on until March. My speed adjusts to the conditions of the roads. Today, for example, the fastest I would drive is 40 mph on Interstate 95. I always gear down in the winter, apply the brakes smoothly and I always make sure that the car is CLEAN!

Michael

·
Registered
2016 Outback and WRX CVT
2,551 Posts
^ I agree - "too-fast for conditions" is related directly to two main factors: the vehicle (including tires) and driver capability.

How fast is too fast? To mee, too fast is when you plow/slide-off into a ditch or other roadside immovable, or:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ro_iuJHv9hI&feature=player_embedded

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMzeiMJQrvk&feature=player_embedded

It don't matter what you've got (OK, so, maybe if you're on studded ice-racing competition tires, things are a little different... :wink:), disrespect mother nature at your own peril.

Now this guy/gal is either really lucky, or pretty danged skilled. :smile: --->

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a293u2g27CE&feature=player_embedded#

^ Always have an "out," and don't be afraid to think unconventionally.

But yes, take the criticism to-heart, my fellow Subaru lovers.

There's only so much that we can do - we're still bound by the laws of physics. Be careful out there.

·
Registered
2016 Outback and WRX CVT
2,551 Posts
^ I wish I had more of those videos, believe me!!!!