Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1997 Civic NA
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm 20 years old and I'm finally in the market to buy a car of my own and I am set on getting a Forester!

For the past 5 years I have been driving my grandma's old Chevy Lumina, which now has 230k miles on it. I've been driving it since I was a sophomore in high school and I'm ready to move on from that thing. (Although it has treated me very well)

I've been looking at older foresters and have been very interested in the XT's. I'm not going to be very picky though because any car I buy is going to seem like a diamond compared to my Lumina. I'm mostly just looking for opinions and suggestions as to what I should be looking at and for.

I am a full time student and I have a full time job also. I will most likely be doing A LOT of highway driving with a new car. I love the look of the old foresters and would probably get into modding once I had one. I've never done something like that before, but after lurking this forum for the past couple of weeks I know I would love it. My budget is $10,000. I live in Montana where most sellers of Subarus overprice their cars, so I would be willing to drive ~500 miles to pick one up. Again, I am completely new to Subarus, car buying, and everything like this, so any suggestions or tips are greatly appreciated! :icon_biggrin:

·
Administrator
2007 Forester Sports XT 4EAT
41,250 Posts
Welcome to the forum from Oregon! :biggrin:

Subaru's are expensive to maintain... correctly. Beware of sales with mileage around the 105K mile range, as the critical & expensive timing belt + associated parts maintenance is due!

Also research on failing head gaskets, which have reported on even the later naturally aspirated engines. :icon_eek:

Good luck with your Forester search. :cool:

Bobby...

['07 FSXT MODding Journal] ['03 X MODding Journal]

·
Administrator
17,728 Posts