Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Forester XS
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am completely new to this. i the forester. my favorites would be 98-03. they just look so rugged. but i have no idea how to look for a used car. i dont know enough about the forester but i am well aware of the reliability of subaru. any tips on how much certain years should cost? or how many miles the car i want should have?

·
Registered
2006 V50 T5 6spd Manual
2,510 Posts
Well, if you want reliable, I'd be looking more towards '04+. '98-'03 were notorious for headgasket failure, and it is not entirely uncommon on newer model years. :frown:

It wasn't just Foresters either, my Outback suffered from it too.

So, first thing when looking for a new Foz is maintenance records! Look to see in the records or ask about the headgaskets. Subarus are reliable, but only if they are maintained properly. They are somewhat maintenance intensive as far as cars go. It's cheap to do, but there is a lot of it (you have two differentials, 8 CV joints, etc)

As far as prices and mileage go, it's all very variable. I'd pay more for a higher-mileage, spotlessly maintained Foz than a lower-mileage one with no records.

Hope that helps. Others will chime in to add things as well. :biggrin:

·
Administrator
2007 Forester Sports XT 4EAT
40,109 Posts
I see this is your first post, so welcome to the forum from Oregon! :biggrin:

When I was looking for my next Forester, I looked on autotrader.com to see what the year(s) I wanted was going for. :wink:

If the Forester has over 105K miles, the timing belt should have been changed. It's expensive, so you don't want to get stuck footing that bill. In addition, the earlier Foresters had a higher head gasket failure rate. This is another expensive repair, so check if the head gasket(s) has been replaced, or if there's any signs that it's starting to fail.

Good luck on your Forester search! :smile:

Bobby...