Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Forester
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there

I was wondering on the off chance someone could help me.

Im new to owning an AWD vehicle, and after purchasing my 2002/2003 forester at 35000km i noticed a vibration noise coming from the car when turning into car park spaces at low speeds. Now i do not know if there is ment to be any sound or not, but my initial feeling is there is something wrong.

After purchasing the vehicle i got my trans serviced and the mechanic changed the LSD fluid aswell. Ive been reading some earlier forums and some people suggest adding an additive, is this necessary and if so what do i use? The changing of the fluid has not changed anything and i have done figure of 8s to try and break in the new fluids.

Basically i would just like to know for peace of mind is this sound/vibration normal or should i be investigating further.

Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2019 Crosstrek 2018 Forester XT
15,120 Posts
There shouldn't be any vibration but there will be some noise bc one of the tires will actually "skid" a slight amount. Now it is also possible that the extra power required for this may be vibrating something on the car..I think that's perfectly possible and probably normal.

·
Registered
2002 Forester
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Its an Automatic. Ive never owned an AWD car before so i do not know what to expect. Some people say it may be normal some not. I thought for a car with these low Kms there shouldn't be any issue. If other peoples cars are doing the same thing then i can agree this sound is normal but if some do and some dont im getting a little confused.

The driving and handling of the car is not affected, its only when driving very slowly IE turning into car spaces with wheel 3/4 lock and more.

Hmmm any thoughts?

·
Registered
17 Forester Premium
106 Posts