Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Forester
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie on this forum in desparate need of some help. The background information of my story is quite lengthy so get comfortable.

2003 Subaru Forester 2.5X (Automatic Transmission)
117,000 miles

I was hearing quite a bit of noise in the right rear end of my car from what I thought was a defective tire. I drove the car like this for maybe three thousand miles, checking the tire for signs of major wear. The tire did not show any strange wear pattern or bubbling, but I finally decided to just replace all four tires. After doing so, the noise was still there. I know, I should have known better, but that's a different story all together.

I then assumed that the wheel bearing needed to be replaced and immediately brought the car to my mechanic. I watched him put the car on the lift to "give a listen". He stood underneath my car while another mechanic sat in the driver's seat and applied the gas pedal with the car in gear. I was horrified when I saw that the front wheels were clearly moving in unison while my rear wheels dribbled along at less than half the speed of the front. At one point, my mechanic was actually holding one of the rear tires while the front spun away.

He confirmed that the wheel bearing needed to be replaced, but I also had the larger problem of a malfunctioning AWD system. He asked me if the AT Oil Temp light was flashing. I told him "no". "It was flashing on the lift," he said, "bring the car in next week." I drove home with the car, wheel bearing grinding along NO lights flashing on the dash. Here is what happened next.