Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Forester Ltd. CVT
1,778 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Family and I fled Tacoma for the Teanaway region of the cascades, where the sun shines yesterday. Took our SH with stock everything up a gravel road, huge pot holes, lots of gravel waves. Didn't hear anything bad, took some pot holes at speed (25mph) some slowed down for. Swear the ones we took slowly were worst.

So, now that I'm home, what should I check. I'll make sure there are no fluids leaking, but do I need to check the suspension or anything else?

I'm a beginner at all of this...

·
Registered
2006 V50 T5 6spd Manual
2,510 Posts
Yeah, stuff like that isn't bad at all. It's when you slam a rock at speed (35+) or hit a deep hole (enough to swallow the wheel) or etc that causes problems.

Water crossings pose a separate set of issues. Do not cross any water higher than the bottom of the car, and even then, do not cross unless it is perfectly still and you have walked it to verify the depth and hardness of the bottom. Any higher and you'll have radiator fans digging in to your radiator, and if you haven't removed the snorkus, water coming in to your engine! :frown:

As far as wavy gravel/dirt... just remember the bigger the waves, the slower you go. In some cases, very slow. :biggrin:

·
Administrator
15,770 Posts
Do not cross any water higher than the bottom of the car, and even then, do not cross unless it is perfectly still and you have walked it to verify the depth and hardness of the bottom. Any higher and you'll have radiator fans digging in to your radiator, and if you haven't removed the snorkus, water coming in to your engine! :frown:

You mean like this:

We also took a stock, brand new Forester across that same stretch by putting on a blind:

http://www.youtube.com/user/Subaru4wdclub#p/a/u/2/gy4Z2ZQ8kI4