Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Forester
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at purchasing a 1999 Forester L, the last Subaru I owned was a 1986 DL hatchback I bought new so I'm way behind the curve. I've owned VW's and Volvos mostly since then, in fact I'm an admin on a VW/Audi site. I have a VW friend who works at a local Subaru dealer and he's been telling me to consider Subarus as an alternative to VW's (all of them rust to pieces, terrible electrical issues) and Volvos (rare to find a manual tranny, otherwise pretty decent).

I've done some research on the web (epinions, carsurvey, KBB) and people either seem to love or hate them. Those that hate them have been through the head gasket or wheel bearing issues, not a lot of other things people mention unless it's a random CEL.

The 99 I'm looking at is a one locally owned car with 179k that was traded in on a Chevy HHR because the new Forester is much bigger and won't fit in their garage. It has a manual tranny (a must for me) and a few nice option packages (CD, nav panel on the dash, front bumper guard etc) and it seems to be in excellent condition in and out. The seat bolsters aren't mashed, there are no tears or stains inside. No rust underneath at all or anywhere on the car, it drives well, no noises or rattles or hums out of the wheel bearings or drive train, smooth and fairly quiet. The HG work was done at 140k, the PO said she had it done because they were getting ready for a trip to Florida and they kept hearing about problems and decided to have it done. I don't have service records (yet) but the dealer has been happy to call and ask the PO and she has been able to answer my questions. I have my friend at the Subaru dealer looking up records via VIN, the CARFAX is totally clean and verifies the miles and single owner.