Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Outback 2.5i Automatic
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So Clearly I'm not mechanically inclined. Or perhaps I'm just really new to all of this. My 2013 Subaru Outback has a top mouting oil filter and I thought this must be so easy to change my oil. Apparently not.

I drained all my transmission fluid and apparently on the 2013 Outback there is no dip stick and I don't know how to refill it.

Can anyone help? Also please tell me what kind of tools I will need to do this.

Forever greateful.

Ben

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Accidently Drained My Transmission Fluid **Need Help**

I have a 2013 Subaru Outback 2.5i

I accidently drained all the transmission fluid and I don't know how to refill it. It doesn't have dip stick.

Can anyone help?

·
Registered
2014 Forester xt prem Cvt
161 Posts
You have to refill it through same home you drained in. A syringe or turkey baster might help

·
Registered
2011 Forester X Premium AT
812 Posts
I used a looong funnel about 20" long or so...maybe closer to 2'.

So....how did you accidentally drain it?

·
Registered
2014 Impreza Premium 2.0 AT w/ Manual Mode
267 Posts
This happened to me only it was the auto shop that did it in my old car...:chair:

Make sure you let it run after you add the fluid to get the levels up.

·
Registered
2011 Forester X Premium AT
812 Posts
Bummer!!! Sh*t happens. I just bought the tall/long funnel from a local NAPA....had the filter screen on it, too, for a few bucks and it worked great. Can you re-use your old fluid? Otherwise, I found the best place was getting the ATF-HP at the dealership but others might have better suggestions on where to get it.

Is your 2013 Outback running the FB25/4EAT? If so, then I think your best bet is that Subaru ATF-HP fluid IMO.

Good luck!

·
Registered
2010 Legacy GT LTD 6 spd
967 Posts