Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Legacy GT Lmtd
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been searching and reading up on the FAQs and stickies on different forester suspension set ups. I've narrowed it down to three choices and i'm curious what peoples opinion or experiences are with these. I'm thinking swapping in an sti suspension, cusco forester specific coilovers, or stance forester specific coilvers. I've done lots of reading and searching but I am a newbie when it comes to suspension. So if anyone has any ideas/opinions please let me know.

·
Premium Member
2017 VW Golf SportWagen 5MT
10,786 Posts
Standard spring rates on the Stance coilovers are alot higher than the STi springs, how firm a ride can you handle? How are the roads where you live?

Stan

·
Registered
2006 Legacy GT Lmtd
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Standard spring rates on the Stance coilovers are alot higher than the STi springs, how firm a ride can you handle? How are the roads where you live?

Stan
The roads are not too bad where I live and I don't mind a very firm ride. I'm curious as to how well an sti suspension will be vs the coilovers. I know both set ups drop it nice and the coilovers are adjustable. But will I get the same handling with either set up

·
Premium Member
10,786 Posts
I think unless you are tracking the car under same conditions, handling can be subjective. I feel more confident in my car now in the twisties on softer STi springs than I did on lower and stiffer springs before.

What are you looking for from coilovers, just ride-height adjustability, or being able to also tweak rebound or maybe even compression? Some coilovers are also rebuildable, which is nice. I think both of the coilovers you mention also come with camber plates, which is also nice.

Stan

·
Registered
2006 Legacy GT Lmtd
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5