Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Premium Member
2007 Forester XT 4EAT-VTD
2,071 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I completed a "modest" 4-wheel brake job on my FXT this weekend.

Parts Used

Centric brake rotors (TireRack)
ATE Premium One pads (TireRack)
G2 Brake Caliper Paint
Complete brake fluid flush

Background

After doing my usual exhaustive research, I selected the above parts for the job. Since I'm a pretty conservative driver (the original brakes which I am now finally replacing lasted 58,000 miles), I decided quiet operation and low dust were more important to me than the maximum braking performance. I ordered the pads and rotors from Tirerack and they delivered in their usual speedy form.

The Centric rotors came with a nice black coating on the hub section and in the vanes of the rotor. The fit and finish is excellent and they include the 8 X 1.25 tapped holes for dislodging the rotors from the hub assembly, just like the factory rotors.

The ATE pads looked good and came with integral shims.

The cost of the pads and rotors (for all 4 wheels) shipped from TireRack was just north of $300.00, so no complaints there either.

I've lost count of the number of brake jobs I have done over the last 30 years and there was nothing out of the ordinary with this one.

Since the calipers were originally painted silver when the car was new - and since the paint Subaru puts on the calipers is all of about 3 molecules thick - I decided to paint them while I had it all apart.

For the calipers I purchased the G2 brake kit in silver. This is a 2-part paint that uses a catalyst to complete the hardening. When fully cured about 24 hours after mixing, the product produces a very durable, high-gloss finish. The extra paint left in the can hardened into a rubbery consistency. The paint is pretty thick and dried to an attractive, high-gloss silver metallic finish. There's more than enough paint to do several coats on four calipers.