Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
09 Limited 4EAT
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With my '09 Limited, I get great hwy mileage (28-30) but so-so local mileage (16-18 (per the readout) -- I do mostly stop-and-go commuting). The 4EAT waits too long to upshift when I'm accelarating from a stop. It usually shifts at around 3000 unless I make it shift earlier by taking my foot off the gas at around 2000-2200 (this is what I usually do). I have a light foot, not trying to jackrabbit.

This week, I started playing with port mode, shifting when it seemed like a good idea, and I'm getting slightly better results, so I'm wondering if there's a way to get the tranny to shift at the right time in full auto mode. Thanks, all.

P.S. I noticed that sport mode will automatically drop from 4th down to 1st as I approach a stop sign -- cool. Also, it won't let me go to 3rd or 4th if the RPMs are too low -- that's smart thinking, Subaru.

·
Registered
2018 ForesterXT Touring..
2,740 Posts
I use the sportshift most of the time too. This is my first auto tranny vehicle so I use it as a compromise. I usually shift between 2000-2500 rpm's-mostly because it is still in the break-in period. I've always been a light shifter to obtain the best mileage possible. Also don't floor it on acceleration-that sucks back the gas too:evilatyou:.

·
Smooshed FOTY 2011
2005 Lifted 2.5 XT 5-Speed MT Dual-Range
5,732 Posts
Try not to lug the engine (shifting at very low RPM's). I know this sounds nuts, but A LOT of people on this board have had milage increases by shifting at higher RPM's (between 3000-4000) when in stop and go traffic. I would toy with that idea on your next tank of fuel to see how you fare. As for me, I have the XT.....and to be honest, it doesn't matter if I rev the nuts off the car or drive economically, I still get 17 MPG/city regardless.

·
Registered
2008 LL Bean (4EAT)
4,786 Posts
Try not to lug the engine (shifting at very low RPM's)....