Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2007 Forester XT Limited 5speed manual
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just took my new to me FXT to my regular mechanic. I asked what the labor would be. He said he could change the springs for 450 dollars(which seems high), but he would not be able to align the car. He went so far as to say I was going to ruin the tires and suspension if I did so.

I was planning on Swift springs for a moderate drop.

Is any of what he said logical? IS there another shop in the Winston Salem area of NC that would do this job properly?

Thanks for your thought on this.

Clay

·
Registered
2006 2006 & 2010 Forester automatic
2,245 Posts
Dropping suspension(or raising for that matter) means you can no longer use "manufacturer specifications" for alignment.

His price seems like..."Yeah I'm a mechanic you like, but I don't want this headache*".

*And before you think that is bunk. My mechanic, and he is good, wouldn't touch the 9" lift I put on my F250. He blatantly said..."go elsewhere".

·
Administrator
2004 Forester XT Premium 4EAT
29,431 Posts
I agree, it sounds like the mechanic doesn't want anything to do with a modified setup (possibly liability reasons?), but the argument that it won't align to factory specs is BS. Swifts only drop the car by about an inch, it's not like the suspension geometry is radically altered. Find another shop.

·
Registered
2006 2006 & 2010 Forester automatic
2,245 Posts
I agree, it sounds like the mechanic doesn't want anything to do with a modified setup (possibly liability reasons?), but the argument that it won't align to factory specs is BS. Swifts only drop the car by about an inch, it's not like the suspension geometry is radically altered. Find another shop.
I wouldn't know that part. But...

I don't spend time modding Subaru. True an inch probably wouldn't mean much.