Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Forester 2.5i 6MT
459 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
found a local deal on a nice set of wheels...only downside is the low offset. Anyone running an offset near +38 run into early wheel bearing failure?

Also...I may be running '04 STi hubs soon, which the OEM offset is +53.

The car will see mostly DD use and eventually I may get back into autocross or participate in a track day.

·
Fast & Dirty
2009 Forester XT 4 speed auto
4,039 Posts
I am not a wheel expert but a 1 cm to 1.5 cm outside the manufacturers spec...WOW.

If we leave the comments aside about the appearance of a wheel sticking out that much...how long do you think the bearings would last.

I would stick to rims that are a few mm from stock and save your bearing repair money for better rims.

·
Administrator
2007 Forester Sports XT 4EAT
39,473 Posts
I'm not completely sure how the STi hubs will affect your stock wheel offset? :confused: The smaller the offset number, the closer to the fender the tire/wheel will be. My first thought is that those tire/wheels are going to be way out there! I'm running running 18x7.5", +42 offset on the '07 FSXT & 17x7", offset +40 on the '03 X. This places the 235 tires flush with the fenders. :wink:

Bobby...

['07 FSXT MODding Journal] ['03 X MODding Journal]

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT '06 STi 6MT
707 Posts
like sleeper said, hubs have nothing to do with offset. swapping to the 04 sti hubs will leave the hub face/hub studs in the EXACT same position inside the wheel well.

what is the WIDTH of the wheels you are thinking of buying? +38 as a number by itself really doesn't help us help you right now.

·
Registered
04 FXT, 61 Stude
1,735 Posts
Mine are 17x9 +38 and I've had no problems at all. Now those that are REALLY into the "Hellaflush" look who put 20mm spacers on their +38 wheels, now that can lead to problems.

·
Registered
2018 Forester 2.5i 6MT
459 Posts
Discussion Starter #6