Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Impreza AT
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! Please forgive my english. The wife and I bought our 2004 XT about two months ago and we've been enjoying it a lot. I decided to find out what kind of fuel economy I can get out of the car when driving very carefully, so I filled it up and reset the trip meter. We drove about 75% highway with the tank and 25% city.

Today I re-filled the car (the tank wasn't 100% empty but the needle was downright low) and here are the figures I'm getting:

I re-filled 43.66 Liters of 91 octane fuel (at 1.12$CAD/L)
The 'A' trip meter reads 670 km
So that means we traveled 670 km with 43.66 liters of fuel, resulting in 6.52 L/100km or 36 MPG.

Really? The economy of that car is THAT good!? I understand I am a very light-footed driver, I let go of the gas pedal as soon as I can in traffic, use the brakes intelligently on the highway etc. but I really wasn't expecting it to be so good, surely something is wrong with my trip meter? Or am I calculating it wrong? I used the calculators/converters on Opentoronto.com (sorry, can't post URLs...)

Someone please confirm if the trip meter on Foresters is known to give faulty results, or if the math of those websites is wrong. I'd like to get such good fuel economy when not soliciting the turbo, but surely this is too good to be true! Thanks :)

PS: The car has 82,800km on the odo, with stock tires.

·
Administrator
2007 Forester Sports XT 4EAT
39,830 Posts
Sorry, but something doesn't sound right.
43.66 liters = 11.5337518 US gallons
670 kilometers = 416.318699 miles
Seems likes a lot of miles, did you forget to reset it the last time you filled up? :confused:

Bobby...

['07 FSXT MODding Journal] ['03 X MODding Journal]

·
Casper reincarnated
2,245 Posts
Man oh man! I'd love to see those figures out of my N/A 03 XS. :biggrin: