Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
2006 Forester XT 4EAT
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am new to the roof rack world but as snowboarding season is rapidly approaching, I always have a lot of friends who want to go and want my car to make the trip, because it is a Subaru!

I have 3 choices I am looking at.

Forester Ski Snowboard Rack System 98-2010,
Yakima FatCat 4,
Yakima FatCat 6

I have some general questions for all 3 because I couldnt find necessary information in there specs, do these all lock? I dont want to drive up to a mountain or parking lot somewhere, leave the car with these onmy snowboards locked in, then come back and they are gone!

does the FatCat 6 (which can hold up to 4 snowboards, a BIG +) extend over the sides of my fxt 06? I dont want something making my car wider, I'm comfortable with its current width.

anyone want to bash any of these? I know the good but its also good to know the bad.

I appreciate any comments.

Thanks everyone,
Rory

·
Fast & Dirty
2009 Forester XT 4 speed auto
4,050 Posts
Yakima will lock.

According to the Yakima site the fat cat 6 should stay within the rails (give or take a couple of inches. You will not hit your head because they fit on a 48" bar.

I have all Yakima stuff. Pricy but worth the money. Very versatile.

·
Registered
1999 subaru forester s
218 Posts
i have the fat cat 6 i like it a lot it dosnt go over the sides they do lock but u need to by the locks they dont come with them and its about $30 more but a nice thing to have , and it fits 4 wide boards too

·
Premium Member
2006 Forester XT 4EAT
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Update, good news, they now come with locks, I just checked on Yakima and it says FatCat 6 (with locks) - $209

·
Registered
1999 subaru forester s
218 Posts
nice i dint buy the locks at first and used my pockit lock i use on the slops but last year i found locks at rei that were used for $10 so now i have them

·