Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2007 FSTI and X 6 MT
22,252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im no suspension expert so lets discuss this. I have read that a "balanced" car has the same sway front to rear. So would a larger RSB help the car roatate better?

My impressions with my stock FSB and 24mm RSB(set to soft) are that it turns better but the front still rolls over in the corners. I know it needs a larger than stock FSB.

Im currently on swifts springs if it matter.

Thoughts?

·
Premium Member
2017 VW Golf SportWagen 5MT
10,784 Posts
It'll make the car corner better because the rear will step out and help you make a tighter radius turn. It's just a band aid though, the front will still push the same as you've stated. You need at least a 24mm front bar now IMO to balance it out. In a wagon, it's common to have a larger front bar than rear, sedan can get away with equal sizes. Ignore the STis as their drivetrain is different and they are more RWD-bias than us, especially the '04.

Stan

·
Registered
2010 Forester XT
82 Posts
On my STi (08 so its a wagon) I run a 25mm front bar (low setting) and a 22mm rear in the mid setting. This seems to let the car rotate just right. Actually I had to adjust a few things once I put on my Coilovers because it rotated too much. LOL

·
Registered
2005 Forester XT 4eat
4,581 Posts
Handling is a funny thing. Not everything works according to hard rules. You can put in an STI rear sway with a stock rsb, and it seems to balance things out. If you go much bigger / stiffer in the rear, it can reintroduce a lot of understeer. Also, you have to consider your camber settings. Lots of negative camber in the rear with more or less straight up and down camber in the front, which is what is dialed in from the factory is a recipe for understeer. If your 24mm rsb is adjustable, I'd go for a 24mm in the front, or 22mm all around if you want to retain civil street manners on uneven pavement.

·
Premium Member