Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Forester and new to Apple CarPlay. In general new to the awesome tech in today’s cars. My last car purchase was 2006. My post might have already been asked and responded to in the past but could not find it easily.
When I connect my iPhone via USB, whether I am using the car play features or not, it always alerts me when I exceed the speed limit. When it alerts me it also turns of the radio. Is there any way to turn it off? I have no idea if this is a STARLINK setting, Apple Maps setting or XM Sirius setting. Any advise would be helpful.

·
Registered
2019 Forester Limited
228 Posts
How are you alerted? Via the car speakers? Is it a verbal alert? Are any apps, such as Waze, open on your iPhone? I’ve not had this happen.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes, the obvious solution is not to speed and yet......:) I am not a lead foot but sometimes I exceed the speed limit by a few miles.
I get the alerts on the car speaker but I don’t know which app alerts me to it. It a verbal alert in a woman’s voice. One of those Siri types. I am not actively using any app. I am not asking maps any directions. The only two actions I am doing are connecting my phone to the car via USB and turning on Sirius XM. I do see that Apple CarPlay is automatically activated and ready to use but I am not using it. The biggest annoyance is that the alert interrupts and stops the radio every time it comes on.

·
Registered
2017 Forester XT Touring CVT
25 Posts
Maybe try to rule out the phone by not connecting it, not even by Bluetooth. Also, speed alerts can be enabled through the STARLINK system, although I’m not sure if this gives a verbal warning in the vehicle or just provides a notification via email/text.

·
Registered
2019 Forester Limited
228 Posts
I'm stumped. Perhaps try changing the voice on your map app to see if it changes your mystery voice.