Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am constantly leaving my phone in my car. I'll be using Android Auto and once I get to my destination I'll just hop out and forget my phone is plugged in.

Ideally I'm looking for some sort of smart alert that recognizes I'm at my destination, and just reminds me to unplug my phone and grab it.

-----

I do have a solution, but it seems to only work maybe ~50% of the time, not sure why. I found an automation app for Android called MacroDroid and have the following setup (I'm no expert, this was me just throwing something together).

Trigger
- Device disconnected from the cars bluetooth

Actions
  • Volume change (100%)
  • Vibrate rapid
  • Play MP3 from the movie Hot Rod - Babe wait
  • Wait 20 sec
  • Volume change (0%)
  • Vibrate enabled
I'm trying to have my phone play the MP3 as I open my door and am just about to leave my car to then be reminded I'm forgetting my phone. But like I said, it's a bit hit or miss when it works, not exactly sure why.

Any suggestions? One thought is to just remember to grab my phone...

·
Registered
124 Posts
I use Android Auto too all the time. But I love my ASUS R.O.G. Phone 2 too much too ever forget it, it is always with me. Well one day I might leave it in my Forester but I doubt it. I just have this mentality since I love all my Android phones.

I might need to check out that app tho, TY and good luck! :)

·
Registered
2020 Forester Touring
241 Posts
Well the 2020 alerts you to check the back seat for kids before you leave the vehicle. Maybe you can associate that message with your phone? It's interesting, my 17' Golf R alerts me to not forget my phone.

·
Registered
2019 Forester Limited
439 Posts