Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Forester
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Subaru and bought a 2020 Forester Premium a few weeks ago. I previously owned a Civic. The problem I have run into is that the steering wheel is not impossible to turn, but it just feels MUCH heavier than my Civic. It isn't too much trouble when I might be turning into a parking space, but on straight (or gently curving) roads, making minor adjustments is noticeably more difficult. With my previous car, I would just have to make a minor adjustment and there was negligible resistance to turning the steering wheel. The steering wheel does not feel out of alignment. This occurs when the lane centering is not turned on. For comparison, I drove a Crosstrek and that feels more like a car with power steering. It has much more responsive steering.

I noticed this recent thread of a poster who said the '19 had much more responsive steering than the previous generation. I can't link it because it's my first post. The thread was started a week ago.

I don't know whether this is a function of the vehicle being heavier? How do I know if there is a problem with the power steering? I am at the point that I am willing to cut my losses. I don't want to drive a car for years that has difficult steering.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2020 Forester
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for writing back! To clarify, my Forester's steering is reasonably easy (maybe not as easy as a lightweight car?) when making turns at more acute angles such as making a U-turn in a parking lot, or turning 90 degrees to go around the corner, etc. Actually the excellent turning radius (compared to my Civic) was one of the first things I noticed about the car.