Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Forester 2.5i-S Jasper Green.
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,
First time posting here so apologies if I'm in the wrong section.

Im a total car novice and a first time Subaru owner. I own a 2020 model, Australian release, 2.5i-S.

I love my new Forester! Its the best car I've ever owned and probably even the best car I've ever driven. But when I learned about the iDrive I thought, well why not add a little more acceleration?

The videos I've watched show that its super easy to install. However I just can't seem to 'pop' out my accelerator cable plug like everyone does in all of the videos.

Im hoping someone has a tip for me?

·
Registered
2020 Forester 2.5 CVT base model
293 Posts
Interested to see how that performs for you 'cause I've been looking at them too.
The cynic in me wonders why a vehicle with so much electronic wizardry couldn't have the best possible throttle response in the first place?
Good test case here, let me know!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited by Moderator)
@Surfrat,

I think (according to conversations Ive had with friends) the Forester is de-tuned for sale in Australia - Meaning the car doesn't perform to its potential.
The iDrive helps unlock some of the potential.

Of course, this is all just stuff Ive been told by friends and none of them are mechanics or work for Subaru. So they could all be wrong.

But its only a small investment, not a huge risk to try it out and see if it actually does anything.

That is, if I can get the accelerator cable plug out and install it!:ROFLMAO:

I'll definitely come back and post my anecdotal findings when I do eventually get it installed.

·
Registered
2020 Forester 2.5 CVT base model
293 Posts
It stops over accelerating?
The hype says that it gives MORE acceleration with less throttle input.
There is no pretense at all that more power is extracted from the engine.