Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
2020 Forester Touring
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a 2020 Forester Touring acouple weeks ago. After spending the last couple of weeks learning how all of the safety features work, I have finally turned to the infotainment system, and downloaded the MySubaru app and the Subaru STARLINK app. Today I tried using the MySubaru app (while I was sitting in it) to lock the doors, just to see how it worked. But it gave me the error below:
Rectangle Font Screenshot Parallel Electric blue
(As an aside, I am an editor by trade, so seeing Forrester misspelled on What I assume is an official Subaru app makes me a little crazy.)

So I called the number, explain what had happened and gave the nice lady on the other end of the call the error code. And she told me that I would need to schedule a service appointment to have it looked at. And I said, "I bought the car a couple of weeks ago, and it's only 1-year-old, so will there be any cost for this?" And of course she couldn't answer that question. So I guess I will call my dealership next week and see what they say.

But after doing a lot of research tonight online, I'm getting a bit nervous that maybe I have somewhat of a lemon. It seems that about 50% of people that have the MySubaru app and STARLINK, experience regular problems.

The car is awesome even without the apps. I can listen to what I want to listen to and Android Auto is something I'm very familiar with, so I can use that, but I feel like having a top-of-the-line model that is supposed to include the ability to remote start the car and set the climate control (which also seems to be a problematic feature for many owner) isn't getting me off on a good foot with this car.isn't getting me off on a good foot with this car.