1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Forester 2.5i 6-speed manual
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Two questions related to the PCV valve:

1) Should I check/replace it? It is part of the C-check for my Canadian '17 Forester 2.5i, however the service manual says "do not remove unless the PCV valve is broken". I am not aware of a way to know if it is broken without removing it, hence the dilemma.

2) The service manual makes it look easy: just pull off the hose, unscrew the valve, check it, and put it back. However access looks complicated; I cannot fit my hand in there to remove the hose, so I cannot remove the valve! Any tips/videos that could help?

I saw some old posts but not sure they would be applicable to my 2017.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Let me start off by saying I am not a mechanic so use your own good judgment.

The reason it's says not to remove is most likely because they are trying to stop people from venting to atmosphere.
Many people try to vent the emissions to atmosphere so that it reduces carbon buildup on the valves etc.

I personally see no reason not to remove it and inspect it. Be extra sure the area around it is clean so that nothing drops into the opening. I would wipe away any dust/debris. Remove it to inspect. Most people use some Teflon tape on threads when reinstalling. If you do, make sure no Teflon tape is covering the end of the valve, threads only.

If you break the valve loose with a socket and a long extention , you can either pull it out by and or use a pair of grippers/clean telescoping magnet.

I found a short video that shows how to do this on the fb25 engine as well.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your great response! I am concerned about being able to access the valve after re-installing to attach the hose, but I'll give it a shot or find someone with small hands to help.

·
Registered
2016 Forester 2.5 Limited
51 Posts