Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Forester XT Touring CVT
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm new to owning a forester. I just picked up my first a month ago and it's a 2017 XT touring. I love it and have been modding away with it but I just have a couple questions I couldn't find on the forum. I currently have these tail lights:

Unfortunately the plug in the USDM version doesn't utilize the rear fog LED's of these lights:

I found a wiring harness on japan parts but the issue I'm running into is that I'm not sure if this will work on the USDM version. I've emailed Yuki from Japan parts but he can't assure me either. I've also seen videos on subispeed.com with their forester ts that has these similar tail lights which function with the rear fogs and I've emailed them about it as well but I'm still waiting for a reply.

Does anyone have more experience with JDM to USDM and specifically from Japan parts ? Since there's no refund I don't want to go crazy ordering body kits and other JDM pieces if they aren't going to fit the USDM version of my XT. Thanks for looking and I appreciate any help. Happy trails.

·
Registered
2018 Forester XT Touring CVT
38 Posts
These are not JDM tail lights, they are a brand called Colin Shread.

See this thread:

" HotShot308 said:
What activates the rear fog? Will they work on a USDM vehicle?
Since USDM Forester doesn't come standard w/ rear fog. We need to run a wire from rear fog to front fog switch in order to activate the rear fog function! "

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
@Roo_Ster Thank you ! This issue has been driving me mad since these lights were expensive. I'm gonna talk to some shops around here about running that wire. Thanks again !

·
Registered
2015 2.5i Premium CVT
258 Posts
Be aware. Some jurisdictions do not like rear “fog lights” - they confuse people even when run correctly.

I know, I got stopped numerous times with my Volvo.

·
Registered
19 Posts