Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Forester Diesel
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks, Need some advice from an experienced tech please. I am new to Subaru, although lve spent many years working on other makes.
I aquired a 2016 diesel Forester with 180,000km on the clock, knowing that it had some engine problem. Not too worried because of the Subi's reputation. However this got quite complex.
The engine had high oil level. Corrected that. Has a knock that sounds like a gudeon or cracked piston.????
Drove it for 20km, it drove perfectly, no codes etc , but oil level came up by about 500mm. When I got back to base,smoke filled the cabin, I found oil& diesel was spilling from somewhere around oil filler cap and burning on top of the dpf heat sheild. The total trip was only 55km.

Ok time to pull the engine out. Pulled off the intercooler and found that I had a brand new short motor. A few checks led me to a local Subaru dealer. The service girl admitted that they had replaced the engine. This one has only travelled 2500km !!
Why had they swapped it when the original engine had only travelled 180,000km? It seized, I was told. And this new short motor came from Subaru and is under warranty. Yippi! They had the Forester for six months while they thought and thought and.....did whatever half witts do. For me, it went typical dealer experience as they tried to gouge money out of me for diagnosis and in the same breath, renege on the warranty. I gave up on them.....Why?