Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Forester 2.5L CVT
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I am VERY new to Subaru and actually don't know much about cars so any help would be appreciated. I have a 2016 used Forester 2.5i and it's been working great. Recently, I blew the fuse for my cigarette lighter but that's not the problem. I located the interior fuse box and figured out which fuse to change.

This is where my problem begins. Next to the tan fuse box, there was a black long rectangle piece with a few fuses of various amperage attached. There is no mention of this black rectangle in the manual or back of the door of the fuse box. Therefore, I thought these were spare fuses so I took one out that matched my blown fuse (10amp). However, the manual only refers to the spare fuses in the exterior fuse box cover so I got a little suspicious. I wanted to be sure about these "spare" fuses so I did some research and found out those are not spare fuses and actually related to other system(s) in the car! (I'm not sure which ones)

I tried to place the 10amp fuse in the black rectangle again but could not remember where it belonged! I tried 2 slots, it only fit into one slot, the other one would not take. So I placed in the last slot on the black rectangle and haven't started the car or did anything else because I am too scared that it might mess something up. I did take a picture of the fuse box so I have reference but for some reason the picture did not save!

Can someone please help me find out if the 10amp fuse belongs in the last slot on the black rectangle next to the tan colored interior fuse box?

Also, does anyone know what are the functions of the fuses in the black rectangle? Or if it matters that I took it out and placed it back? I mean to say does it reset or stop any function, potentially harming any system in the car?