Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Forester automatic
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2014 Forester in early October, 2013. It is the 2.5 with auto tranny. I recently have been driving on some slick highways. I drove 2600 miles from Alaska to Washington State in December of this year, very little bare pavement. I found the "Dynamic Control" to be a real pain and a danger. It would kick in at between 40-60 mph when there was traction loss. The effect was loss of control, the car would "wiggle around" enough that I had to slow down. At times we got passed by little two wheel drive Hondas as well as big 4 x 4 pickups. I turned to "off" the little traction symbol light when the wiggling happened (suggestion from the dealer service guy). I had it "off" most of the trip.

I have been driving winters in Alaska for more than 40 years and know what to expect. This is the sixth consecutive Subaru I have owned. This car is unpredictable and feels unsafe to me. Does anybody think it is malfunctioning? Is this an issue for other drivers of new Foresters? I am VERY disappointed in this feature and am looking into pulling the fuse on it if I can. This will probably void the warranty so I am not anxious to do it.

·
Premium Member
2008 Forester X Premium 5MT
8,073 Posts
For some one who has a lot of seat time in driving in low traction situations, I have found they often have a hard time letting vehicles with stability control do their thing. Seems their natural reaction is for them to fight the system and get frustrated with it.

If you are on stock tires, they are marginal at best in the snow and ice. Dedicated winters go a long way.