Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
2012 Forester 2.5x 4EAT
397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is my 2012 as purchased the other day. My third Subaru, but my first Forester. Came with 36,000 miles on the the odometer and the Curt basket already on top.

I don't really have a whole lot of budget for making a lot of mods like some of the amazing vehicles I've seen here, but will do what I can when I can. I'm a photographer who loves to explore the most unused backroads I can find, so my long-term goal is an adventuremobile that is still practical and affordable as a daily driver. Now that I've blown all my cash on the car itself, it'll probably be awhile before I can address any serious functional upgrades. I think I'd first like to explore giving it a little lift, adding some offroad lights, and adding some underside protection. I'm not mechanically-inclined at all however so I'll certainly have to hire that work out bit by bit.

Anyway, I'm very excited to have a Forester and to have gone from lurker to member here so I'm going to jump right into documenting the progress from the very beginning.

·
Registered
2012 Forester 2.5x 4EAT
397 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Wheels and Tires

The previous owner was running winter tires that were relatively new, but it just doesn't make sense to me to be taking summer road trips on that kind of tire. So my first order of business was to put some all seasons so I can save those winter tires for, well, winter.

I had the new tires installed onto new black steel wheels and left the winter tires on the original alloys for easy swapping. Sometime between now and winter I think I'll plasti-dip the alloys black to bring them in line with the black-and-blue theme.

·
Registered
2012 Forester 2.5x 4EAT
397 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Next up: a bit of Plasti-Dip on the grill