Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! This is my first time on the forum. I've been consistent with maintenance on my car, even using a mechanic that specializes and only works on Subarus. After 10 years, but only 94,000 miles, it turns out that I need to have my engine replaced due to oil burning. I've done some research and learned that this has been a common problem in '11-'14 models. My engine light never came on, at any time, and it wasn't until I heard a knocking noise that I brought it in and learned that the short block needs to be replaced, at a $6000 price tag. My question is, has anyone experienced this and is there any kind of recourse that I can bring to Subaru's attention? I'm past my warranty, but I bought the Subaru because of their longevity and with the low mileage I have on my car, this is the last thing I was expecting. I appreciate your input and advice!

·
Registered
2011 Subaru Forester
1,373 Posts
Did you run out of oil? If not just fill it up, and consider switching to a high mileage oil. Replacing the short-block is not without its own risks. Many Subarus will consume some oil under certain driving conditions, and older vehicles usually burn some. Unless there was physical damage, you can run a long time if you are willing to check the oil level every second fill-up or so and commit to adding some to keep it full.
I would think you have some options, and it's probably even cheaper to get a newer used replacement engine.
I use 5w30 high mileage synthetic on my 2011 with 260,000 km. Basically, it has stopped the engine seals from seeping, and I tend to add about half a quart every month to cover what burns. It still runs great.

·
Registered
189 Posts
What exactly happened to the engine? There is so much missing information...

Did he drain the oil to see how much was in or just check the dipstick?
Did the engine start smoking, overheating?